DUI, or driving under the influence is a traffic offense that is taken very seriously in the state of Florida. This ticket is accompanied by hefty fines and other penalties too. First see what the law says:
You may be cited for a DUI ticket if:
You are over 21 and driving with a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher. In some cases, your B.A.C may be lower than .08 and you still could be cited.
If you think you have been charged erroneously, or want to get the charges reduced, you can get a Florida DUI Attorney to represent you in court in this matter.
These are the penalties you stand to face if you receive a DUI for the FIRST time:
Suspension of driver license for a minimum period of 180 days
Minimum fine of $500
50 hours of community service
DUI school for 12 hours
Probation up to one year
Possible jail sentence
In case, you had a minor in the vehicle at the time, or your alcohol level was found to be 0.15% or higher, you will be asked to pay a higher face, and face up to 9 months in jail.
When you consider all the fines and charges, you will realize that hiring a Florida DUI Lawyer will actually help you save money; an experienced DUI attorney may be able to argue successfully in your favor and get your charges dropped or considerably reduced. Remember that in addition to the legal consequences, a DUI conviction can look bad for you when you apply for a job, loan or even try to find an apartment, as you are required to mention this fact. Hiring a lawyer to fight this charge may save you from all this embarrassment. DUI attorneys are well-versed with the intricacies of the law and will be able to help you wriggle out of a bad situation.
Have you received a DUI for the first time? At The Ticket Clinic, we have experienced and efficient attorneys who may help you fight and beat the charges. Give us a Call Today to know more!