In order to ensure the safety of the drivers and pedestrians, Florida has strict traffic laws and penalties for DUI. The
punishment for drunk driving is not consistent across the US. State laws and the customs of the local jurisdiction have
resulted in the variation, and the only thing that remains the same is the severity of the DUI punishments. Normally, if
someone is convicted of a DUI, for the first time, he may suffer penalties including a fine, license suspension,
attendance at a DUI education course for a specific period of time, along with probation for 6 months up to a year. If
the person commits the same offense for the second time within five years he faces a mandatory minimum jail
sentence of 10 days, up to one year.
First Florida DUI Offense
According to Florida Criminal Statutes, any DUI violation that causes damages to property is a first degree
misdemeanor and a DUI violation that leads to serious injury to a person is a third degree felony. If a death is caused,
it becomes a 1st or 2nd degree felony, considering the circumstances. If the blood alcohol content is 2.0 or higher or
if a minor is present in the vehicle. Depending on the circumstances, one may face jail up to 5 years state prison.
The Florida DUI Fines for a first offense, range from $250 to $500. If the BAC is 2.0 or higher, or if a minor was in the
The vehicle, then the driver has to pay a fine of at least $500 and not more than $1,000.
Florida License Suspension can range from 180 days to 1 year, for first a first offense. Subsequent offenses may
result in greater suspensions, even lifetime revocations. With a professional DUI attorney in Tampa or DUI attorney in
Orlando at your side, you may get the penalties reduced.
To obtain a Florida hardship license, if convicted, the person must complete the DUI School. First conviction requires
12 hours course. In Florida, the probation is for a maximum of 1 year. In addition to that, the person should do 50
hours of community services or pay a specific amount for each hour.