Call for a Free Consultation
(800) 625-5232


Understanding the Penalties for A First DUI in Florida

DUI is an offense under the Florida law and the penalties that follow, can be harsh. You can be charged with DUI if there was Impairment of “normal faculties” or an unlawful level of blood or breath alcohol of 0.08 or above. If you get charged with DUI, it makes sense to consult a Florida DUI Lawyer, who will be able to give you sound advice on your next step.

The following are the penalties you may face for your first DUI offense in Florida:

Reinstatement fees of $45 may be charged for a revoked license / suspended license as well.

You may have to provide proof of enrollment or completion of DUI school and treatment.

If you are younger than 21 years of age and are found with a BAL of 0.02% or higher, you may be subjected to an Automatic administrative suspension of six months by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

DUI misdemeanors, felonies, and manslaughter charges may have heavy penalties.

There are several DUI lawyers in Florida who concentrate on DUI cases similar to yours, and it is best if you consult an experienced lawyer who can advise and represent your interests in the various proceedings.